Appendix K

PARLIAMENTARY AND GLC ELECTIONS IN HARROW, 1964-1977

This Appendix sets out results for Parliamentary and Greater London Council (GLC) Elections. The format is similar to the main results tables, including the inclusion of a column showing the % share of the vote achieved by each candidate. A cross (+) before the name of a candidate in 1964 indicates a member of the previous (1959-1964) Parliament. An asterisk (*) indicates a forfeited deposit. Turnout is based on the number of valid votes cast.

Polling dates for the elections were as follows:

Parliamentary	1964 1966 1970	Thursday 15 October Thursday 31 March Thursday 18 June		Thursday 28 February) Thursday 10 October
GLC	1964 1967 1970	Thursday 9 April Thursday 13 April Thursday 9 April	1973 1977	Thursday 12 April Thursday 5 May

Between 1964 and 1970 elections to the GLC were conducted on the basis of the whole of the London Borough of Harrow forming one large electoral division, returning three Councillors. (For these elections turnout is based on the number of ballot papers issued.) From 1973 single-member seats were introduced; in Harrow the seats had the same boundaries as the existing Parliamentary constituencies.

Parliamentary Elections, HARROW CENTRAL constituency

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Party	Votes	%
1964	45,512	78.6	John A. Grant Ronald V. Spurway Dennis F. Joyner	C Lab L	16,534 12,067 <u>7,168</u> 4,467	46.3 33.7 20.0 12.6
1966	44,195	80.2	John A. Grant Anthony R. Judge Anthony H.J. Miller	C Lab L	15,971 14,341 <u>5,118</u> 1,630	45.1 40.5 14.4 4.6
1970	45,863	71.7	John A. Grant Anthony R. Judge Anthony H.J. Miller Sydney G. Carter	C Lab L Ind	16,525 12,561 3,449 358 3,964	50.2 38.2 10.5* <u>1.1</u> * 12.0
1974 (F)	44,938	80.5	John A. Grant David M. Offenbach Ronald S. Montgomerie Jeffrey A. Donin	C Lab L NF	15,320 12,403 7,635 823 2,917	42.3 34.3 21.1 2.3* 8.0
1974 (O)	45,278	72.9	John A. Grant David M. Offenbach Ronald S. Montgomerie Christopher A. Byrne	C Lab L NF	14,356 12,288 5,566 <u>813</u> 2,068	43.5 37.2 16.8 2.5* 6.3

Note:

1970: Carter was Vice-President and nominee of the National House Owners' Society, whose main office was situated in Wealdstone.

Parliamentary Elections, HARROW EAST constituency

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Party	Votes	%
1964	47,954	80.0	+Anthony T. Courtney Josephine Richardson	C Lab	20,307 18,048 2,259	52.9 <u>47.1</u> 5.8
1966	47,267	82.8	Roy D. Roebuck Anthony T. Courtney Michael D. Colne	Lab C L	17,374 16,996 <u>4,749</u> 378	44.5 43.4 12.1* 1.1
1970	50,363	76.0	Hugh J.M. Dykes Roy D. Roebuck Michael D. Colne Geoffrey Cramp	C Lab L Ind	19,517 15,496 3,185 <u>72</u> 4,021	51.0 40.5 8.3* 0.2* 10.5
1974 (F)	48,910	82.3	Hugh J.M. Dykes Kenneth W. Childerhouse Joseph McDonnell	C Lab L	17,978 13,485 <u>8,805</u> 4,493	44.6 33.5 <u>21.9</u> 11.1
1974 (O)	49,328	74.9	Hugh J.M. Dykes Roy M. Lewis Joseph McDonnell	C Lab L	17,073 13,595 <u>6,268</u> 3,478	46.2 36.8 17.0 9.4

Note:

1970: Cramp, a local man, campaigned for a reform of the taxation system and for referenda to be held on issues of national importance.

Parliamentary Elections, HARROW WEST constituency

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Party	Votes	%
1964	53,756	79.8	+Arthur J. Page Kenneth W. Childerhouse Arnold E. Bender	C Lab L	23,132 10,725 <u>9,055</u> 12,407	53.9 25.0 21.1 28.9
1966	53,210	80.2	Arthur J. Page Christopher H. Beaumont Harry C. Seigal	C Lab L	22,660 12,313 <u>7,676</u> 10,347	53.1 28.9 18.0 24.2
1970	57,374	72.8	Arthur J. Page Timothy P.C. Daniel Jeffrey F. Smith	C Lab L	24,867 11,462 <u>5,440</u> 13,405	59.6 27.4 13.0 32.2

Parliamentary Elections, HARROW WEST constituency [cont.]

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Party	Votes	%
1974 (F)	56,157	82.7	Arthur J. Page Robert E. Bell Leslie Wagner	C L Lab	23,950 12,081 <u>10,430</u> 11,869	51.6 26.0 22.4 25.6
1974 (O)	56,852	74.2	Arthur J. Page Martin P. Reynolds Robert E. Bell	C Lab L	21,924 10,342 <u>9,903</u> 11,582	52.0 24.5 23.5 27.5

Elections to the Greater London Council

HARROW electoral division

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Party	Votes	%
1964	145,864	55.4	Horace W. Cutler Oliver J. Galley William E. Jones	C C C	37,895 37,021 35,577	46.9 45.9 44.1
			Alfred J. Lovell Thomas T. Swan Anthony R. Judge Michael D. Colne Dennis F. Joyner Charles M. Hawkings Reginald A. Ward	Lab Lab L L L Com	27,000 25,995 24,684 14,447 13,333 13,151 3,426	33.4 32.2 30.6 17.9 16.5 16.3 4.2
[Death of 0	Galley]					
1966 (27/1)	146,937	14.9	Harold T. Mote Reginald A. Ward Robert C. Ramage	C Com UM	18,490 1,858 <u>1,539</u> 16,632	84.5 8.5 7.0 76.0
1967	143,881	47.5	Horace W. Cutler William E. Jones Harold T. Mote	C C C	39,791 39,405 39,003	58.3 57.7 57.1
			Anthony R. Judge Alfred J. Lovell Aleck H. Tidmarsh William R. Westaway Mary E. Wakefield Alexander J. Wilson Reginald A. Ward Robert C. Ramage	Lab Lab L L L Com UM	18,106 17,066 16,447 8,026 7,247 7,074 3,778 1,512	26.5 25.0 24.1 11.8 10.6 10.4 5.5 2.2

[One seat vacant from June 1969 — Death of Jones]

HARROW electoral division [cont.]

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Party	Votes	%
1970	153,192	39.2	William S. Clack Horace W. Cutler Harold T. Mote	C C C	37,370 37,113 36,867	62.2 61.8 61.4
			Alfred J. Lovell Alan S. How James P. Brophy Keith Higgins Anthony H.J. Miller Jeffrey F. Smith Jean W. Jones Reginald A. Ward Mary C. Mayer Catherine McSherry Robert C. Ramage	Lab Lab L L L HBR Com HBR HBR	16,449 15,867 15,079 4,985 4,530 4,491 964 851 652 508 478	27.4 26.4 25.1 8.3 7.5 7.5 1.6 1.4 1.1 0.8 0.8

Note:

1970: The figures originally announced by the Returning Officer were:

Clack, 45,495; Cutler, 45,228; Mote, 45,045; Lovell, 16,474; How, 15,897; Brophy, 15,112; Higgins, 5,199; Miller, 4,772; Smith, 4,735; Jones, 982; Ward, 821; Mayer, 645; McSherry, 497; Ramage, 444. (Total ballot papers 59,945.)

Following an Order made by the County Court dated 17 April, a recount was held on 20 April. Large discrepancies were found which reduced the total votes as first announced by 25,142, and increased the total ballot papers by 97 to 60,042. F.W.S. Craig, in his booklet *Greater London Votes: 1. The Greater London Council 1964-1970*, records the total ballot papers as 60,074.

HARROW CENTRAL electoral division

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Party	Votes	%
1973	45,070	42.7	William S. Clack Alfred J. Lovell Norman G. Marcus Richard Franklin	C Lab L NF	7,812 7,379 2,666 <u>1,361</u> 433	40.6 38.4 13.9 <u>7.1</u> 2.2
1977	44,966	46.9	William S. Clack Alfred H.J. Elderton Ralph P. Bancroft Leslie E.D. Le Croissette	C Lab L NF	12,326 5,631 1,999 <u>1,063</u> 6,695	58.6 26.8 9.5 <u>5.1</u> 31.8

HARROW EAST electoral division

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Party	Votes	%
1973	49,359	42.9	Harold T. Mote John C. Powell Reginald A. Ward	C Lab Com	10,432 10,217 <u>460</u> 215	49.4 48.4 2.2 1.0

HARROW EAST electoral division [cont.]

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Party	Votes	%
1977	49,660	51.8	Harold T. Mote Allen Bradshaw Anthony Baker Geoffrey W. Spratt Alan J. Harding Reginald A. Ward	C Lab L NF NP Com	15,413 6,774 1,851 977 445 <u>179</u> 8,639	60.2 26.4 7.2 3.8 1.7 0.7 33.8

HARROW WEST electoral division

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Party	Votes	%
1973	56,676	42.6	Horace W. Cutler Nicholas A. Hyman Henry Young Robert C. Ramage	C Lab L Act P	12,498 5,407 5,230 <u>947</u> 7,091	51.9 22.5 21.7 <u>3.9</u> 29.4
1977	56,711	50.9	Horace W. Cutler Alan G.M. Kinchin James S.S. Bond Brian V. Maisey	C Lab L NF	19,136 4,748 3,567 1,339 14,388	66.4 16.5 12.4 <u>4.7</u> 49.9