Appendix H

PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCIES

The composition of Harrow's Parliamentary Constituencies at General Elections between 1964 and 1974 is given below:

Harrow Central

Harrow-on-the-Hill and Greenhill Kenton Wealdstone North Wealdstone South West Harrow

Harrow East

Belmont Harrow Weald Queensbury Stanmore North Stanmore South

Harrow West

Headstone Pinner North and Hatch End Pinner South Roxbourne Roxeth

Note that a "minor" boundary alteration between the Harrow Central and Harrow East constituencies occurred at the February 1974 General Election. This arose from the implementation of the proposals of the Boundary Commission for England, *Second Periodical Report*, Her Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1969. This alteration is confirmed in F.W.S. Craig, *Boundaries of Parliamentary Constituencies 1885-1972*, Political Reference Publications, Chichester, 1972. The purpose of the change was apparently to ensure that Parliamentary boundaries conformed with ward boundaries. However, during research for this book, and subsequently, no information has been found to indicate what the boundary change might have been. An error in the *Second Periodical Report* cannot be ruled out.