LITTLE STANMORE PARISH ELECTION RESULTS, 1919-1933

LITTLE STANMORE PARISH COUNCIL, 1919-1933

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Meeting Votes	Poll Votes
1919	775		Charles L. Clark +William H. Halsey	Unopp. Unopp.	
			James P. Howard	Unopp.	
			Frederick W.T. Krohn	Unopp.	
			+Rev. Colin W. Scott-Moncrieff	Unopp.	
			William W. Woodell	Unopp.	
<u>Note</u> :			o elect councillors was held on 18 March at the r. James T. Child in the Chair during the election		retiring
1922	903		Thomas G. Vickery	16	
			William E. Highams	15	
			Frederick W.T. Krohn	15	
			Charles L. Clark	10	
			Maurice G. Moss	9	
			Rev. Colin W. Scott-Moncrieff	6	(9)
			Fred W. Snoxell	6	(7)
			John J. Wadlow	4	

Note: The Parish Meeting to elect councillors was held on 14 March at the Institute with Rev. Daniel Tatton in the Chair during the election.

Upon the show of hands Scott-Moncrieff and Snoxell tied for sixth elected place with 6 votes each. The Chairman took a fresh show of hands in respect of the sixth seat with the result that Scott-Moncrieff received 9 votes and Snoxell 7 votes. A poll was not demanded.

[Resignation of Clark]

1923	William W. Woodell	Co-opt.
(6/6)		•

Note: The *Minutes* failed to record who proposed and who seconded that Woodell be chosen to fill the vacancy. There were no other nominations.

[Failure of Woodell to sign a Declaration of Acceptance of Office]

1923	Henry C. Kirby	Co-opt.
(5/12)		

Note: The Clerk reported to the Council that Woodell had declined the invitation to become a Parish Councillor but "thanked members for their kind consideration." Cllr. Moss proposed and Cllr. Vickery seconded that Kirby be chosen to fill the vacancy. There were no other nominations.

LITTLE STANMORE PARISH COUNCIL, 1919-1933 [cont.]

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Meeting Votes	Poll Votes
1925	1,109		Rev. Colin W. Scott-Moncrieff	1 <i>7</i>	
			Charles Newham	16	
			Mrs. Alice A. Jones	15	
			William E. Cook	14	
			Peyton H. Black	13	
			John T. Seabrook	12	
			Charles T. Stone	9	
			Frederick W.T. Krohn	8	
			Reginald Buckett	6	
			Henry C. Kirby	4	
			Charles W. Burdett	3	
			Thomas G. Vickery	3	

Note: The Parish Meeting to elect councillors was held on 18 March at the Institute with district and Edgware parish councillor Cllr. George R. Mann in the Chair during the election. The *Minutes* recorded that there was "a total attendance of 42." A poll was not demanded.

The *Hendon and Finchley Times* reported that Seabrook and Buckett tied for the sixth elected place, each receiving 11 votes, and that the Chairman used a casting vote in favour of Seabrook. It is difficult to reconcile the story with the figures recorded in the *Minutes*.

1928	1,450	John T. Seabrook	88
		Frank O. Robertson	86
		Mrs. Caroline H. Allen	85
		George E.M. Walker	81
		Douglas A. Barclay	80
		Sydney J. Rust	64
		Frederick W.T. Krohn	59
		Charles Newham	51
		Peyton H. Black	28
		Mrs. Alice A. Jones	19
		Charles W. Burdett	15
		Rev. Colin W. Scott-Moncrieff	11
		Roland H. Baynes-Cope	3
		George Williams	2

Note: The Parish Meeting to elect councillors was held on 14 March with Brigadier-General John H. Abbot Anderson in the Chair during the election. The *Hendon and Finchley Times* reported that "a huge crowd" was in attendance, while the *Minutes* recorded that "approximately 200-250 [were] present." A poll was not demanded.

Seabrook, Robertson, Mrs. Allen, Walker and Barclay were the candidates of the local Conservative Association; Barclay was also endorsed by the Ratepayers' Association. Rust, Newham, Black and Mrs. Jones were candidates of the Ratepayers' Association.

LITTLE STANMORE PARISH COUNCIL, 1919-1933 [cont.]

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Meeting Votes	Poll Votes
1931	2,481		Sydney J. Rust Douglas A. Barclay Frederick V. Andrews Fred G. Harman Albert E. Hurst Peyton H. Black	112 97 88 87 77 68	
			Frank O. Robertson Charles Newham Alfred E. Fawcett William O. Allen	53 24 20 18	

Note:

The Parish Meeting to elect councillors was held on 9 March at St. Lawrence's Church Hall with Brigadier-General John H. Abbot Anderson in the Chair during the election. One elector (a Mr. P. Page) demanded a poll but the Chairman refused after taking the views of the Meeting.

The *Minutes* of this meeting being unavailable, the voting figures above are those reported by the *Hendon Times and Guardian*. The paper also commented that the election was an "outstanding success" for the Little Stanmore Ratepayers' Association; all six elected candidates had been recommended by the Association's committee.

Fawcett and Allen were the candidates of the local Labour Party.