KENTON [5]

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Party	Votes	%		
1954	10,459	48.5	+Walter R. Cowen +Albert E.P.F. MacRae +Stanley R. Miller	C C C	3,567 3,357 3,342	70.4 66.2 65.9		
			Doris I. Edwards Daniel C. Byrne Philip J. Jenkins	Lab Lab Lab	1,475 1,471 1,420	29.1 29.0 28.0		
[Election of Cowen and Miller as Aldermen]								
1954 (24/6)	10,459		Marie M.H.E. Haslam William H. Samson	C C	Unopp. Unopp.			
1955	10,427	37.0	William H. Samson Maurice Gosling	C Lab	2,945 <u>909</u> 2,036	76.4 <u>23.6</u> 52.8		
1956	10,289	31.8	Albert E.P.F. MacRae Edgar W. Miller	C Lab	2,340 <u>929</u> 1,411	71.6 <u>28.4</u> 43.2		
1957	10,130		Marie M.H.E. Haslam	С	Unopp.			
[Samson retires from the Council]								
1958	9,962	37.8	Ethel Morgan Sarah R. Edgworth Marjorie H. Jackson	C Lab L	2,118 859 <u>786</u> 1,259	56.3 22.8 <u>20.9</u> 33.5		
1959	9,800	40.6	Albert E.P.F. MacRae Cyril W.E. Matthews	C Lab	2,979 <u>995</u> 1,984	75.0 <u>25.0</u> 50.0		
1960	9,832	34.2	Marie M.H.E. Haslam Cornelius J. Foley Henry J. Craske	C L Lab	2,159 670 <u>524</u> 1,489	64.4 20.0 <u>15.6</u> 44.4		
1961	9,702	41.1	Dennis F. Joyner Ethel Morgan	L C	2,236 <u>1,743</u> 493	56.2 <u>43.8</u> 12.4		

[Election of MacRae as an Alderman]

KENTON [cont.]

Election	Electors	T'out	Candidate	Party	Votes	%
1961 (29/6)	9,702	37.7	Douglas W. Jopling Ethel Morgan Amelia M. Carey	L C Lab	1,810 1,498 <u>346</u> 312	49.5 41.0 <u>9.5</u> 8.5
[Jopling retires from the Council]						
1962	9,666	53.7	Stanley O. Atkinson Geoffrey R. Kerbey Henry J. Craske	L C Lab	2,783 1,785 <u>614</u> 998	53.8 34.4 <u>11.8</u> 19.3
1963	9,509	52.8	Ivan M. Roitt Marie M.H.E. Haslam Peter A. Fletcher	L C Lab	2,138 2,038 <u>846</u> 100	42.6 40.6 <u>16.8</u> 2.0

Note:

1954:	At the meeting of the Council held on 25 June 1954 lots were drawn to determine the person
(24/6)	elected to fill the vacancy with the longer term. This was done by the members concerned
	drawing slips of paper bearing the year of retirement from books held by the Town Clerk. The
	result was that Mrs. Haslam was determined to fill the vacancy with the term ending in 1957,
	while Samson was determined to fill the vacancy with the term ending in 1955.

1962: Atkinson resigned from the Council in June 1964. No by-election took place to fill the vacancy.